Benedetto Marcello – Six Sonatas for cello solo and basso continuo – Opera Prima


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
0 out of 5
  Ask a Question


The Six Sonatas for cello solo and basso continuo by Benedetto Marcello, are a staple of the repertoire for growing cellists and for historical performers all around the globe. They are perfect for students who just learned to read the tenor clef and are looking forward to test their embryonal thumb position skills. Besides all technical aspects, they are universally recognised for their beauty, and are a must-have in every cellists’ collection. 

This edition is based on the first printed appearance of the Six Sonatas, in Amsterdam, in 1732, and it is therefore an Urtext edition. It is made up of a 98-page book containing: the full score, a cello part, a basso part, and a supplemental cello part dedicated to paper printing. It will soon be enriched with additional cello parts containing bowing and fingering suggestions dedicated to both beginner and more advanced performers. 

It is available in a bundle containing all files in PDF and EPUB format, or as a score only or parts only version, in PDF format only. 

I hope you will enjoy this incredibly poignant and soaring music!

Additional information


Ensemble Type

, ,


Baroque Period, Instructional

Level of Difficulty

Solo Instrument


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Benedetto Marcello – Six Sonatas for cello solo and basso continuo – Opera Prima”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.

You may also like…