Come Down O Love Divine – brass quintet and piano

SKU: CSM025 Categories: , , Tag:


5 out of 5
  Ask a Question


“Come Down, O Love Divine” pairs a text by the Italian mystic poet Bianco de Siena (c. 1350-1399) with a tune by the towering English composer Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958). Translated by the Anglican cleric Richard F. Littledale (1833-1890), Bianco’s hymn is especially appropriate at celebrations of the Holy Spirit (e.g. Pentecost) and Holy Trinity (e.g. Trinity Sunday), and ideal as a wedding prelude.

Vaughan Williams’ tune, “Down Ampney,” is named after the Gloucestershire village in which he was born.

This arrangement for brass quintet and piano features an introduction by the piano, a solo for French horn followed by a broader statement of the tune by the full ensemble, and a conclusion by the piano.  

©2017 Todd Marchand / Con Spirito Music

Additional information

Ensemble Type


Level of Difficulty


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Come Down O Love Divine – brass quintet and piano”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.