Comfort, Comfort Ye My People (Advent carol) — brass quintet

SKU: CSM051 Categories: , , Tags: , ,


5 out of 5
  Ask a Question


A straightforward statement of the chorale tune followed by an energetic, highly syncopated romp in constantly changing meters makes this joyful Advent hymn great fun to play and an ideal prelude or postlude to worship.

French composer Louis Bourgeois (c. 1510-1559) wrote or adapted a number of tunes to the metrical settings of the Psalms in the Genevan Psalter. The tune on which this arrangement is based was written for Psalm 42, and today it often accompanies a text written by Johann Olearius (1635-1711) and translated by Catherine Winkworth (1829-1878) that paraphrases Isaiah 40:1-5, the prophet’s call for repentance at the advent of a new kingdom bringing peace and joy: “Comfort, comfort ye my people, speak ye peace, thus saith our God.”

©Copyright 2011 Todd Marchand / Con Spirito Music

Additional information

Ensemble Type

Level of Difficulty


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Comfort, Comfort Ye My People (Advent carol) — brass quintet”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.