O Jesus, I Have Promised — brass quintet

SKU: CSM004 Categories: , , Tag:


5 out of 5
  Ask a Question


“O Jesus, I Have Promised” was written by the Anglican cleric John Ernest Bode (1816-1874), with the accompanying tune “ANGEL’S STORY” written by Arthur Henry Mann (1850-1929), organist and director of music at King’s College Chapel, Cambridge from 1876 until 1929 and founder of its renowned Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols since 1918.

Here, following an introduction based on melodic fragments, this lovely tune is presented three times: 1) by trumpets alternating on the melody accompanied by horn, trombone, and tuba; 2) by trio of horn, trombone, and tuba; and 3) following a modulating transition, by full ensemble with melodic ornamentation/variation in the first trumpet part.

©Copyright 2020 Todd Marchand / Con Spirito Music

Additional information

Ensemble Type


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “O Jesus, I Have Promised — brass quintet”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.