Bach: A Selection of Sinfonias (Three part Inventions Nos.1,2,4,6,8,9 & 11.) – Clarinet Trio

SKU: RTM021 Categories: , , Tags: , , ,


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
5 out of 5
  Ask a Question


J S Bach wrote his “Inventions and Sinfonias” as musical exercises for his pupils.

They are a collection 30 short keyboard pieces, 15 in two part writing and 15 in three part.

They are more commonly known as the two part and three part inventions.

The two groups of pieces are both arranged in order of ascending key, each group covering eight major and seven minor keys.

The sinfonias lend themselves to trio transcriptions and I have done so for a number of them using a clarinet trio of 2 standard and 1 bass clarinet. (I have also provided an alternative standard clarinet 3 part for the bass clarinet).

I have taken some liberties with the notes in the 3rd clarinet part to avoid any “clash” with the upper two parts.

I have also transposed the clarinet parts so they are playing in the same keys as the original keyboard i.e. No 1 which is in Concert C has been transposed into Bb, so the clarinets are playing in C. They are all excellent exercises in playing scales in their varying keys.Individual sinfonias are available as well as collections!

See related scores for details:some will be free from time to time.

Numbers included 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9 & 11.

I have included 2 versions for no.6: one version in E and an easier to play version in F!) Also available for mixed woodwind trio.

Additional information

Level of Difficulty


Level of Difficulty


Baroque Period


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Bach: A Selection of Sinfonias (Three part Inventions Nos.1,2,4,6,8,9 & 11.) – Clarinet Trio”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.