Bach: ADAGIO from Concerto in D minor, BWV 974 (Concerto d’après Marcello in D Minor) for PIANO


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Store:  FRC Music
0 out of 5
  Ask a Question


The Concerto for Oboe and Strings in D minor, attributed to Alessandro Marcello, is one of the most performed oboe concertos in the repertory. It was written in the early 18th century and has become Marcello’s most famous work. Bach wrote a keyboard transcription of the concerto. Here we offer an arrangement for piano solo based on Bach’s transcription.

The Oboe Concerto in D minor, S D935, is an early 18th-century concerto for oboe, strings and continuo attributed to the Venetian composer Alessandro Marcello. The earliest extant manuscript containing Johann Sebastian Bach’s solo keyboard arrangement of the concerto, BWV 974, dates from around 1715. As a concerto for oboe, strings and continuo its oldest extant sources date from 1717: that year it was printed in Amsterdam, and a C minor variant of the concerto, S Z799, was written down.

Bach’s keyboard version was published as an arrangement of a concerto by Antonio Vivaldi in the 19th century. In 1923 the C minor version of the oboe concerto was published as a composition by Benedetto Marcello, Alessandro’s brother. In the second half of the 20th century several publications indicated Alessandro again as the composer of the piece, as it had been in its early 18th-century print, and the oboe concerto was again published in its D minor version.

This arrangement was written for Piano Solo.



Johann Sebastian Bach


Piano Solo




Baroque Period, Christian, Sacred, Funeral, Recital



YouTube link:

Additional information


Baroque Period, Inspirational

Level of Difficulty

Solo Instrument


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Bach: ADAGIO from Concerto in D minor, BWV 974 (Concerto d’après Marcello in D Minor) for PIANO”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.

You may also like…