Communion (by Alfred Robert Gaul, arr. Wind Quintet)


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
0 out of 5
  Ask a Question


Title: Communion
Composer: Alfred Robert Gaul (1837-1913)
Arranger: Andrew Lamb
Description: This is a transcription of communion by Alfred Robert Gaul (1837-1913)

Alfred Robert Gaul was a British composer, conductor, and organist, born on October 29th, 1837, in London, England. Gaul showed an early interest in music and began his musical education at the age of ten. He studied under the organist William Hawes and the composer William Sterndale Bennett, and later became an assistant to John Goss at St Paul’s Cathedral.

Gaul’s musical career began in earnest in 1866 when he was appointed conductor of the Musical Association in London. He went on to conduct several choirs and orchestras, including the Royal Amateur Orchestral Society, and also worked as an organist at several churches in London.

As a composer, Gaul is best known for his choral music, which includes anthems, hymns, and cantatas. His most famous work is “The Holy City,” a sacred cantata that was first performed in 1892 and remains popular today. He also wrote several operettas, including “Editha’s Burglar,” and “The Red Hussar.”

Gaul was a prolific composer, with over 200 works to his name, and was well-respected during his lifetime. He died on December 28th, 1913, in London, at the age of 76. His legacy lives on through his music, which continues to be performed and enjoyed by choirs and orchestras around the world.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Communion (by Alfred Robert Gaul, arr. Wind Quintet)”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.