William Sterndale Bennett | Adagio (Introductory Voluntary) [arr. for Brass Quintet]


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
0 out of 5
  Ask a Question


Title: Adagio
Composer: William Sterndale Bennett (1816-1875)
Arranger: Andrew Lamb

William Sterndale Bennett was an English composer, pianist, and conductor born in Sheffield in 1816. He showed a remarkable musical talent at an early age, and by the time he was nine, he was already performing in public concerts.

In 1826, Bennett moved to Cambridge, where he became a chorister at King’s College and began studying music with the organist there. Later, he studied with Felix Mendelssohn in Leipzig, where he became friends with other notable musicians, including Robert Schumann and Franz Liszt.

Bennett’s career as a composer began to take off in the 1840s, with works such as his Piano Concerto No. 1 and Symphony in G minor gaining critical acclaim. He went on to become one of the most popular and successful British composers of the mid-19th century, with his music often being performed in concert halls across Europe.

In addition to his composing career, Bennett was also a respected conductor and pianist, serving as principal conductor of the Philharmonic Society in London and later becoming the first director of the Royal Academy of Music.

Bennett died in London in 1875, leaving behind a legacy of influential and enduring music, including numerous works for piano, orchestra, and choir, as well as several chamber music pieces. His music is characterized by its lyrical melodies, imaginative harmonies, and innovative use of form and structure, and continues to be performed and studied by musicians and music lovers around the world.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “William Sterndale Bennett | Adagio (Introductory Voluntary) [arr. for Brass Quintet]”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.