Beethoven (as adapted Seiss): Contre-Tanze (Country Dance) No.2 – wind quintet


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
5 out of 5
  Ask a Question


Contre-Tanze (Country Dance) No.2 (adapted Seiss)

Beethoven wrote 12 Country Dances WoO14 for orchestra .

They are all quite short: some have trios.

They are probably better known as a set of 3 piano pieces called Contre-Tanzes which are noted “frei bearbeitet von Isidor Wilhelm Seiss” (freely adapted by Isidor Wilhelm Seiss)

Isidor Seiss (23 December 1840 – 25 September 1905) was a German composer, conductor, pianist, piano pedagogue and philanthropist.

They have a “romantic feel” to them.

Each one of Seiss’s 3 country dances are made up of extracts from 3 of Beethoven’s. In some cases he uses only the trio, other times he uses the first 8 bars. Extracts are also transposed when needed to fit the home key of the piece.

My arrangement is based on the musical layout of Seiss’s Dance Number 2 which utilises extracts of Beethoven’s as follows: The trio from No.5, the Trio from No 6 and part of No.12.

Seiss freely adapts Beethoven’s melodies and chordal structure.

I have used Beethoven’s original orchestration as a guide to give a more authentic classical sound.

The horn part is for a natural horn in Eb.

I have ignored the coda from Seiss’s arrangement.

Hope you enjoy them.

Additional information

Ensemble Type


Classical Period


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Beethoven (as adapted Seiss): Contre-Tanze (Country Dance) No.2 – wind quintet”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.