Larghetto (by Francis Cunningham Woods, arr. for Wind Quintet)


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
0 out of 5
  Ask a Question


Title: Larghetto
Composer: Francis Cunningham Woods (1862-1929)
Arranger: Andrew Lamb

Francis Cunningham Woods (1862-1929) was an American composer and music educator. Born in Worcester, Massachusetts, Woods showed an early aptitude for music and began studying the piano and organ at a young age. He went on to study at the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston, where he received his Bachelor’s degree in music in 1884.

Woods began his career as a church musician, serving as an organist and choir director in several churches in Massachusetts and Connecticut. He also taught music at several institutions, including the New England Conservatory, the Hartford Conservatory, and the University of South Carolina.

As a composer, Woods is known for his works for chorus, orchestra, and chamber ensembles. His compositions often reflect his interest in the natural world, and he frequently set texts by poets such as Walt Whitman and John Burroughs. He was also influenced by the music of Debussy and Ravel, and incorporated elements of impressionism into his own compositions.

Throughout his career, Woods remained active in the musical community, serving as a member of several professional organisations, and participating in music festivals and competitions. He died in 1929 in Columbia, South Carolina, where he had lived and worked for many years. Today, his music is still performed and studied by musicians and scholars around the world.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Larghetto (by Francis Cunningham Woods, arr. for Wind Quintet)”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.