Low Brass Quartet – Horn Piece


Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
5 out of 5
  Ask a Question


Originally a horn quartet inspired by a conversation about writing for horns. There are three movements.

The first movement is called Canon. It consists of a simple theme that is presented in imitation by each of the four ‘voices’ first at 2 bar intervals then, in inversion at four bar intervals and then in the original form at one bar intervals. There is a linking fanfare-like passage before the final statement of the original motif with fanfare-like adaptations.

The second movement is called Lullaby. The elegant, drifting melody is passed around the four players with a
largely chordal accompaniment pattern that needs to be played sotto voce at all times. The tempo is marked Largo, but it is still one-in-a-bar.

The third movement is called Hullabaloo-haloo-haloo. While it is based on a 6/8 cantering rhythm, there is a lot of variation in both the accompaniment and the melody. Again, all the lines have a lot of interest, nobody has to play simple um-chucks, and there’s even a solo for the lower tuba at the end.

This is a really enjoyable and exciting new addition to the low brass quartet repertoire.

Additional information

Ensemble Type

, , , , ,

Level of Difficulty



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Low Brass Quartet – Horn Piece”

General Enquiries

There are no enquiries yet.